First Time No.3: Open a BPI Savings Bank Account

Having a Bank Account nowadays has been a necessity in itself. Banks offer so much services now apart from savings and investments, providing loans, and a whole lot more – you name it! For me, I use it for several reasons: one is to keep me and my money safe – I feel more secured just bringing enough cash whenever I go out; two is for me to gain easy access to money – it’s just a swipe away from an ATM; and lastly as a payment method for my small businesses one of which is my online perfume giveways webstore.

I wasn’t really thinking of opening a new bank account simply because I’m currently contented with my existing account with another bank. I thought that it’s not practical to have two or several other bank accounts. Plus, I’m not really one of those who like to keep so many cards in their wallet – I like to keep my wallet as thin as possible (paper bills are exclusions :D ). Until yesterday, I had a client from Boracay who would only prefer depositing his payment over Bank of the Philippine Islands (BPI) since according to him is the only bank in their vicinity. Our deals will go a long way and we’ll be having a “long-term business partnership”. And so to accommodate my client, I’ve decided that it’s about time to open a new account with BPI and also for us to transact better and faster (sidenotes: I also accept other payment methods for my business but I prefer bank transactions and deposits. I feel somewhat more secured with this process or I’m just being traditional.). Moreover, I realized that it would also be a good idea to keep and maintain two or a number of bank accounts for me to have an option specially when my current bank’s ATMs are not in the vicinity, aren’t online, under maintenance or just plainly being not helpful.

The Bank of the Philippine Islands (BPI) is one of the largest banks in the country.
The Bank of the Philippine Islands (BPI) is one of the largest banks in the country.

So, so much for the inside story, in short, I opened a BPI ATM Saving Account or BPI Express Teller International Account at SM Southmall Branch.

You may open an ATM-only account (opening is Php500.00 and maintaining balance is Php3,000.00) or an ATM with Passbook account (maintaining balance is Php10,000.00) with BPI.

Here are the requirements and a step-by-step process in applying for a BPI Savings Account (same for both ATM-only or with Passbook Accounts):

1. Make personal appearance to the bank and bring the following requirements.
Two (2) Valid IDs and photocopy of them:
Sidenote: If you could provide more than two IDs, the better.
Passport
Driver’s license
Professional Regulations Commission (PRC) ID
National Bureau of Investigation (NBI) clearance
Police clearance
Postal ID
Voter’s ID
Barangay certification
Government Service and Insurance System (GSIS) e-Card
Social Security System (SSS) Card
Philhealth Card
Senior Citizen Card
Overseas Workers Welfare
Administration (OWWA) ID
Overseas Filipino Worker ID
Seaman’s Book
Alien Certification of Registration/Immigrant Certificate of Registration
Government office ID:
(e.g. Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP), Home Development Mutual Fund (HDMF) IDs)
Certification from the National Council for the Welfare of Disabled Persons (NCWDP)
Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) Certification
Other valid IDs issued by the Government and its instrumentalities

Billing Statement:
Sidenote: This is just to verify your billing address. You may use billing statements even if it’s not under your name as long as it’s from your family members.
Electric Bill
Telephone Bill
Water Bill
Credit Card Bill,  etc.

Two (2) copies of 1×1 latest photo

2. Fill out the application form they will provide by supplying the required information. You are required to provide three (3) identical signature specimens.

3. At least Php500.00 initial or opening balance. Please take note that your account will only be allowed one month before the rule on “maintaining balance” will be applied.

4. Allow a day to have your account activated. Some say, you need two (2) to three (3) days before you could claim your ATM Kit but in my case, I received the ATM kit right-away.

I got the blue one. But I think it comes in two (2) other colors: gold and red.

Aside from being an ATM Card, you could also use it as a Debit Card or BPI Cardholders can shop the cashless way through Express Payment System (E.P.S.)
Aside from being an ATM Card, you could also use it as a Debit Card or BPI Cardholders can shop the cashless way through Express Payment System (E.P.S.)

5. They will ask you if you want to enroll it to their online and phone banking which I did. I’ll post another entry on how it went later.

Actually, I’m really impressed with how the whole process went. It just took me approximately twenty (20) minutes to have my application processed and approved – well, add another fifteen (15) minutes when I fall in line and waited for my turn. The one who assisted me was very approachable and accommodating. I asked a lot of questions, I thought that she would be irritated but she explained it to me in detail and in a very customer-friendly way – 5-stars for her! :)

And that’s it! I’m now a BPI Cardholder! I’m now excited to enjoy their products and services! Let the “payments” come! :D

I hope their aftersales and online and telephone customer service representatives are as efficient as the one who assisted me.

For more information on their rates and requirements, I highly encourage you to visit their website at www.bpiexpressonline.com as I only have a limited knowledge on their operations.

Cover Photo: via vistamalls.com

215 comments

  1. sir pa explane po kung ano ibig sabihin nito … At least Php500.00 initial or opening balance. Please take note that your account will only be allowed one month before the rule on “maintaining balance” will be applied.

  2. I went to bpi pagadian branch to open an account but i was disappointed. They were very strict when it comes to requirements. Valid ids only meaning they dont accept brgy certification as you’ve mentioned above and even postal id for goodness sake they dont validate it as i knew i thought it is valid. But i was wrong and so much very disappointed. So i went to BDO and it was successful. It took me less than 30 minutes to open a savings account (Passbook with atm). I just presented them my sss id and postal id with a photocopy of it and i was told to fill out the application sheets that the clerk gave me and so on. It went well and fast. The clerk in bdo was approachable and nice. So i will give her 5 star. Regarding bdi based on my experience, i was dissapointed since you were my first choice.

  3. Good morning sir. Tanong ko lng po kung ok naba itong mga requirements ko for open account..
    *Cash for initial or open account
    *2 pcs. 1×1 ID picture latest pic.
    *Philhealth ID (w/ photocopy)
    *Brgy. Certificate (w/ photocopy)

    I dont haved billing statement dahilnasa Manila po ako ko po ay taga provencia

Leave a Reply

